The Jury Process

Once a project is nominated for the World Summit Award it has to pass several stages of evaluation and assessment before it can become a WSA Winner.

The first stage is National Nominations.
Eminent national experts from more than 178 UN member states nominate up to eight projects each – one for every WSA category.

The second stage is the Online Jury.
In November to January 2017 an online jury of  international experts evaluates and preselects the best 15 to 18 products in each of the eight WSA categories.

The third stage is the announment of the Winners.
In February 2017, WSA office will announce five winners in each WSA category.

Evaluation criteria - How your product will be evaluated:

5 Technical Criteria

  • CONTENT. Quality and comprehensiveness
  • FUNCTIONALITY. ease of use, user experience, appropriate interactivity
  • DESIGN: navigation / orientation and visual appeal
  • TECHNOLOGY: state of the art in technology and quality of technical realisation
  • INNOVATION: Originality and newness to targeted users, Business model society and market

2 Strategic Criteria

IMPACT (Local Impact / Impact on society)




Projects which completed the submission process are evaluated in round 2 by an online jury of young experts.

The jury of experts to evaluate the applications is comprised of up to 30 international experts with backgrounds such as youth activists and young entrepreneurs, journalists and media workers, researchers and teachers, and representatives of international organisations and businesses.

In round 2 two to three winners will be selected in each category. Jurors have a chance to judge shortlisted projects to ensure objectivity and thoroughness. Each project is evaluated by a minimum of two jurors and votes are tabulated online to ensure fairness and accuracy. Winners and runners-up will be notified after the jury closes and they will be given the opportunity to present their projects at the WSYA Winners' Event which takes place in a different country each year. 

The evaluation is done on the basis of six criteria:

  • Content: Quality, comprehensiveness and impact of content and relevance for SDGs
  • Design: Usability, navigation and aesthetic value of layout and graphics
  • Innovation & Creativity: Demonstration of significant originality and initiative
  • Interactivity: Level of engagement and action offered to site users
  • Sustainability: Project survival over time
  • Strategic value: Get action on reaching one of the eight SDGs